Tuesday, September 11, 2012


Gayatri Devi is an incarnation of Saraswati Devi, consort of Lord Brahma, symbolising the "shakti" (strength) and "dev" (quality) of Knowledge, Purity and Virtue. Saraswati Devi is held to be the patronness of the Arts, being a poet and musician, as well as skillful composer. In the form of Gayatri Devi, with the blessings of Lord Brahma, she is believed to have given the four Vedas to mankind.

Gayatri is depicted seated on a lotus. She is depicted with five faces representing the pancha pranas /pancha vayus(five lives/winds): prana, apana,vyana, udana, samana, of the five principles/ elements (pancha tatwas) earth, water, air, fire, sky (prithvi, jala, vayu, teja, aakasha). She has 10 hands carrying the five ayudhas: shankha; chakra, kamala, varada, abhaya, kasha, ankusha, ujjwala utensil, rudrakshi mala.


Describing about the qualities of an ideal brahmin, Sage Pulastya said--- Once, Narad had asked Lord Brahma as to who was worthy of receiving Vishnu's blessings. Lord Brahma had told Narad that Lord Vishnu showered his blessings on those who engaged themselves in the service of brahmins. A brahmin should be virtuous and well versed in all the scriptures. A brahmin who does not observe the rituals as mentioned in the Vedas, brings disgrace to his ancestors. An ideal brahmin is respectful towards his parents, teachers and treats his guests with due honour. He never aspires for women other than his wife and chants the sacred Gayatri mantra everyday.

Goddess Gayatri is said to have manifested in the lineage of Sankhyayan. She is of fair complexion and fire is the symbolical expression of her mouth. Lord Brahma dwells on her forehead, Lord Vishnu in her heart and Lord Rudra has his abode in her braided hair. The Gayatri mantra consists of 24 letters and each of them is related with a specific deity. There is a mention of Gayatri mantra, which consists of 18 letters. It begins with the word 'agni' and ends with 'swaha'.


A person, who chants the mantra for 100 times, becomes liberated from gravest of sin. The various deities related with the twenty-four letters of Gayatri Mantra are as under-


1st letter ---- Agni 
2nd letter ---- Vayu 
3rd letter ---- Surya 
4th letter ---- Aakash 
5th letter ---- Yamraj 
6th letter ---- Varun 
7th letter ---- Vrihaspati 
8th letter ---- Parjanya 
9th letter ---- Indra 
10th letter ---- Gandharva 
11th letter ---- Poosha 
12th letter ---- Mitra 
13th letter ---- Twashta 
14th letter ---- Vasu 
15th letter ---- Marudganas 
16th letter ---- Soma 
17th letter ---- Angira 
18th letter ---- Vishwadeva 
19th letter ---- Ashwini kumar 
20th letter ---- Prajapati 
21st letter ---- All the deities 
22nd letter ---- Rudra 
23rd letter ---- Brahma 
24th letter ---- Vishnu 

A devotee should then perform the ritual of 'nyas' by mentally establishing different words of the Gayatri mantra in the various parts of his body as given below -- 

OM BHUH --- in the heart, 
OM BHUVAH --- in the head, 
OM SWAH --- in the top-knot (Shikha), 
OM TATSAVITURVARENYAM --- in the whole body, 
OM BHARGODEVASYA DHIMAHI --- in both the eyes 
OM DHIYO YO NAH PRACHODAYAT --- in both the hands. 

Regular chanting of Gayatri mantra bestowes similar virtues attained by the study of all the four vedas. A brahmin who does not know Gayatri mantra is considered to be worse than a shudra. Anybody who chants Gayatri mantra attains salvation.

No comments:

Post a Comment