Wednesday, April 23, 2014

What is "Asta Siddhi - Nav Nidhi"

What is "Asta Siddhi - Nav Nidhi"

A) An accomplished, Purnayogi in the path of Kundalini Yoga is in possession of eight major Siddhis, viz., Anima, Mahima, Laghima, Garima, Prapti, Prakamya, Vasitvam and Ishitvam. 

1. Anima: The Yogi can become as minute as he pleases. 

2. Mahima: This is the opposite of Anima. He can become as big as he likes. He can make his body assume a very large size. He can fill up the whole universe. He can assume a Virat Svarupa. 

3. Laghima: He can make his body as light as cotton or feather. Vayustambhanam is done through this Siddhi. In Jalastambhanam also the power is exercised to a very small degree. The body is rendered light by Plavini Pranayama. The Yogi produces a diminution of his specific gravity by swallowing large draughts of air. The Yogi travels in the sky with the help of this Siddhi. He can travel thousands of miles in a minute. 

4. Garima: This is the opposite of Laghima. In this the Yogi acquires an increase of specific gravity. He can make the body as heavy as a mountain by swallowing draughts of air. 

5. Prapti: The Yogi standing on the earth can touch the highest things. He can touch the sun or the moon or the sky. Through this Siddhi the Yogi attains his desired objects and supernatural powers. He acquires the power of predicting future events, the power of clairvoyance, clairaudience, telepathy, thought-reading, etc. He can understand the languages of the beasts and birds. He can understand unknown languages also. He can cure all diseases. 

6. Prakamya: He can dive into the water and can come out at any time he likes. The late Trilinga Swami of Benares used to live for six months underneath the Ganges. It is the process by which a Yogi makes himself invisible sometimes. By some writers it is defined to be the power of entering body of another (Parakaya Pravesh). Sri Sankara entered the body of Raja Amaruka of Benares. Tirumular in Southern India entered the body of a shepherd. Raja Vikramaditya also did this. It is also the power of keeping a youth-like appearance for any length of time. Raja Yayati had this power. 

7. Vashitvam: This is the power of taming wild animals and bringing them under control. It is the power of mesmerising persons by the exercise of will and of making them obedient to one’s own wishes and orders. It is the restraint of passions and emotions. It is the power to bring men, women and the elements under subjection. 

8. Ishitvam: It is the attainment of divine power. The Yogi becomes the Lord of the universe. The Yogi who has this power can restore life to the dead. Kabir, Tulsidas, Akalkot Swami and others had this power of bringing back life to the dead. 

B) Nine Nidhis those are in the safe custody of Kubera: According to Amarakosha, the nine nidhis are: Mahapadma (Divine lotus), Padma (Lotus), Shankha (Conch-shell), Makara (Crocodile), Kachhapa (Tortoise), Mukund (Quick silver), Kund (jasmine), Neelam (Blue sapphire), and Kharva (a Dwarf). Each of these has a guardian spirit and is worshipped by the Tantriks. The nature and characteristics of nidhis have remained largely unexplained and have not been fully understood. 

When considered as mines, minerals, earthenware and ocean resources, the nine treasures of Kubera are interpreted as:

- padma (lake in Himalaya with minerals and jewels)

- mahapadma (lake double the size of padma in Himalaya with minerals and jewels)

- makara (Synonym of Padmini, black antimony)

- nila (Antimony)

- mukunda (cinnabar, or quicksilver)

- kunda (arsenic)

- kharva (cups or vessels baked in fire)

- kachchhapa (tortoise or turtle shell)

- sankha (conch shell)

No comments:

Post a Comment